Board of Directors

The Lowcountry Area Health Education Center (AHEC) is a 501(c)(3) organization and as such is governed by a Board of Directors who exercise the powers of the corporation through oversight and policy making. The Board of Directors is composed of one representative member from each of the twelve (12) counties in the Lowcountry Region served, the Executive Director of South Carolina Area Health Education Consortium, and the Executive Director of Lowcountry AHEC. The counties served by Lowcountry AHEC are Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Hampton, Jasper and Orangeburg.

Allendale County                                                                                      April_2014
April Cone, MSN, Ed., RN
Treasurer, Executive Committee
Nursing Academic Program Coordinator
University of South Carolina, Salkehatchie


Bamberg CountyKathy Schwarting
Kathy Schwarting, MHA
Executive Director,
Palmetto Care Connections



Barnwell CountyVickie Bryan Glover
Vickie Bryan Glover, PA-C
Staff Physician Assistant,
Camai Community Health Center



Beaufort County                                                                                          Mark Senn Head shot
Mark Senn, PhD
Senior Director, Community Health Improvement
Beaufort Memorial Hospital



Berkeley County                                                                                          Wilma
Wilma Rice, MSN, RN, CEN
Education Specialist, Professional Development
Roper, St. Francis Healthcare




Calhoun County                                                                                      20151111_221341~2
Angela Hampton, PA-C
Secretary, Executive Committee
Locums Tenens
Barton Associates



Charleston County

VLUU L200 / Samsung L200Lisa Marie Langdale, MSN, RN-BC
Vice Chairperson, Executive Committee
Director, Clinical Excellence Education
Medical University of South Carolina



Colleton CountyBynum
William S. Bynum (Sandy)
Chairperson, Executive Committee
Vice President, Business Development and Physician Recruitment
Colleton Medical Center


Dorchester County
Open Board Position

Hampton County
Chrissy Rhodes Brunson, PharmD
Director of Pharmacy
Hampton Regional Medical Center

Jasper CountyPolkey, Faith
Faith L. Polkey, MD, MPH
Regional Director of Medical Education,
AT Still University
School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona
Chief of Pediatrics, Beaufort Jasper Hampton Comprehensive Health Services, Inc.

Orangeburg County        
Pandora (Penny) H. Ryant, MSN, BSN, RN     penny
Executive Committee
Nursing Director, Progressive Care, 3West,
Medical Step-Down, and Dialysis The Regional Medical Center
Orangeburg and Calhoun Counties


David Garr, MD  
David GarrExecutive Director
South Carolina AHEC




Diane Mathews, MS.David Garr
Executive Director
Lowcountry AHEC